Removing your personal data

Before you sell or give away your device, you should always remove your personal information.

We at Tutez Australia value your privacy, and we understand that information contained on your device is personal and can also be sensitive. So we ensure that your device is securely erased and your personal data removed. We apply data sanitisation and information removal methods that is consistent with the DoD 5220.22-M standard for the highest level of security.

If you would like to do it yourself, here's a guidance on how to remove personal data from your device.

For iPhone, iPad or iPod touch

You shouldn't manually delete your contacts, calendars, reminders, documents, photos, or any other iCloud information while you're signed in to iCloud with your Apple ID. This would delete your content from the iCloud servers and any of your devices signed in to iCloud.

On your device with iOS 10 or later, make sure that you sign out of iCloud before you erase your device.

Follow these steps:

  1. If you paired an Apple Watch with your iPhone, unpair your Apple Watch.
  2. Back up your device.
  3. Sign out of iCloud and the iTunes & App Store. 
    • If you're using iOS 10.3 or later, tap Settings > [your name]. Scroll down and tap Sign Out. Enter your Apple ID password and tap Turn Off.
    • If you're using iOS 10.2 or earlier, tap Settings > iCloud > Sign Out. Tap Sign Out again, then tap Delete from My [device] and enter your Apple ID password. Then go to Settings > iTunes & App Store > Apple ID > Sign Out.
  4. Go back to Settings and tap General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings. If you turned on Find My iPhone, you might need to enter your Apple ID and password.
  5. If asked for your device passcode or Restrictions passcode, enter it. Then tap Erase [device].
  6. Contact your carrier for help transferring service to a new owner. If you aren't using a SIM card with your device, you can contact them to get help transferring service to the new owner.

For MacBook (Any Model Applies)!

NOTE: If you’re interested in wiping an SSD, see below.

  1. Make sure your Mac is turned off.
  2. Press the power button.
  3. Immediately hold down the command and R keys.
  4. Wait until the Apple logo appears.
  5. Select “Disk Utility” from the OS X Utilities list. Click Continue.
  6. Select the disk you’d like to erase by clicking on it in the sidebar.
  7. Click the Erase button.
  8. Click the Security Options button.
  9. The Security Options window includes a slider that enables you to determine how thoroughly you want to erase your hard drive.

There are four notches to that Security Options slider. “Fastest” is quick but insecure — data could potentially be rebuilt using a file recovery app. Moving that slider to the right introduces progressively more secure erasing. Disk Utility’s most secure level erases the information used to access the files on your disk, then writes zeroes across the disk surface seven times to help remove any trace of what was there. This setting conforms to the DoD 5220.22-M specification.

  1. Once you’ve selected the level of secure erasing you’re comfortable with, click the OK button.
  2. Click the Erase button to begin. Bear in mind that the more secure method you select, the longer it will take. The most secure methods can add hours to the process.

Free Postage Label

Free label across Australia

24 Hours Tech Support

Contact us anytime, anywhere

Fast Payment

Payment within 8 hours

\